Click on a book to learn more about it.

Monday, June 8, 2009

Musicians Hall of Fame

On June 8, 2009, the third class of inductees were announced for the Musicians Hall of Fame. While the website is still active, there haven’t been any new inductees since then. As the website explains, nominations are made by current members of the American Federation of Musicians as well as various music industry professionals. There is no indication of how these nominees are whittled down to determine who is inducted. Here are the inductees from 2007-2009:

image from

  • Chet Atkins (2009)
  • Booker T. & the MG’s (Steve Cropper, Donald “Duck” Dunn, Al Jackson Jr., Booker T. Jones, 2008)
  • The Blue Moon Boys (Bill Black, DJ Fontana, Scotty Moore, 2007)
  • Billy Cox (2009)
  • The Crickets (Jerry Allison, Sonny Curtis, Joe B. Mauldlin, 2008)
  • Dick Dale (2009)
  • Charlie Daniels (2009)
  • Duane Eddy (2008)
  • Victor Feldman (2009)
  • Fred Foster (2009)
  • The Funk Brothers (Richard “Pistol” Allen, Jack Ashford, Bob Babbitt, William “Benny” Benjamin, Eddie “Bongo” Brown, Dennis Coffey, Johnny Griffith, Joe Hunter, James Jamerson, Uriel Jones, Joe Messina, Earl Van Dyke, “Wah Wah” Watson, Eddie Willis, 2008)
  • Al Kooper (2008)
  • The Memphis Horns (Wayne Jackson, Andrew Love, 2008)
  • The Memphis Boys (Gene Chrisman, Tommy Cogbill, Bobby Emmons, Mike Leech, Bobby Wood, Reggie Young, 2007)
  • The Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section (Barry Beckett, Pete Carr, Roger Hawkins, David Hood, Clayton Ivey, Jimmy Johnson, Randy McCormick, Will McFarlane, Spooner Oldham, 2008)
  • The Nashville “A” Team (2007)
  • Paul Riser (2009)
  • Billy Sherrill (2008)
  • The Tennessee Two (Grant Marshall, Luther Perkins, 2007)
  • Toto (David Hungate, Steve Lukather, David Paich, Jeff Porcaro, Mike Porcaro, Steve Porcaro, 2009)